Marco Chiudinelli – Syntax’s top company ambassador even after his tennis career

The former Swiss tennis professional and Davis Cup winner Marco Chiudinelli has been a partner of Syntax Translations for over 14 years. In addition to sponsoring, the partnership has been marked by friendship and has continued after he stepped back from his tennis career.

MC (as he is known in sport circles) – once a prominent figure in Swiss tennis – not only amazed with extraordinary performances on the tennis court. Thwarted by serious injuries and set back time and again in the most important years of his sporting career, he never gave up. He always fought his way back with tireless commitment and a positive attitude.

In 2009, when he finally succeeded in advancing into the Top 100 of the ATP world rankings, and in February 2010, when he achieved his best position in the rankings at 52, it was the long-deserved reward for all his efforts and his belief to “Never give up!”. This happened in the same year as Syntax’s 25th anniversary – symbolic for the unique partnership! The 2009 “Comeback Player of the Year” award from the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) was presented to him by none other than his childhood friend, Roger Federer, and was a well-deserved recognition.

Victory for the Swiss in the 2014 Davis Cup (N.B. in the year of Syntax’s 30th anniversary) allowed him to celebrate the world championship team title with the whole country. A truly historic triumph and a unique highlight in his career!

Marco Chiudinelli has now embarked on a new career, setting up his company “mc – CHIUDINELLI, Management & Consulting”. In addition to/after various further education and training projects, his new field of activity will include consulting, designing and realising a range of services associated with sport. As a self-employed entrepreneur throughout his tennis career, he will be able to draw on his extensive experience and expertise gained during this time. Without any management, he was always solely responsible for all his activities as a top athlete. He will now be able to profitably apply his many talents and trilingual language skills to his different mandates and tasks.

Syntax Translations Ltd is very proud to count Marco as its top company ambassador. This outstanding example of mutual support will continue to shape the future.

www.chiudinelli.ch

Bio

     
     Marco Chiudinelli


Born in 1981, grew up in Basel, currently living in Basel-Landschaft. Fan of FC Basel and rock concerts. At the age of 16, moved to Biel for four years to train with Swiss Tennis. This marked the start of my professional career, which began in the year 2000. Then, when I was 20, I set up camp in Northern Germany, in Halle (Westphalia). That’s where I found my new training base, which I remained faithful to for more than ten years. I played on the ATP tour for a total of 18 years.

Career highlights as an ATP tennis professional

Won various single and double Challenger Tournaments


Grand Slams:
Reached the third round of the US Open twice

2009:
ATP doubles winner in Gstaad (with Michi Lammer)
ATP semi-final at Swiss Indoors Basel (vs. Roger Federer)
ATP “Comeback Player of the Year” Award

2010:
Reached position 52 in the ATP world rankings

2014:
Davis Cup winner
Credit Suisse “Swiss Sport Team of the Year” Award
(Davis Cup Team)

2017:
Retired from an active tennis career at
Swiss Indoors Basel

2018:
Founded my company:
mc – CHIUDINELLI Management & Consulting

What began as “partners in sport” has developed into “friends for life” over this long period of time.

golf4companies
“g4c”

Marco Chiudinelli has been appointed Tournament Director of the Swiss Corporate Golf Match Play Championship entitled “golf4companies” (g4c). Teams of two from Swiss companies, administrations and associations will compete on the golf course.

More about this

Marco Chiudinelli – auch nach Tenniskarriere Syntax Firmenbotschafter Nr. 1

Über 14 Jahre dauerte die Partnerschaft zwischen dem – nun ehemaligen – Schweizer Tennisprofi und Davis-Cup-Sieger Marco Chiudinelli und Syntax Übersetzungen. Nebst dem Sponsoring war diese Partnerschaft auch durch Freundschaft geprägt und besteht nach seinem Karriereende weiter.

MC (wie er in Sportkreisen genannt wird) – einstiges Aushängeschild des Schweizer Tennissports – verblüffte nicht nur mit aussergewöhnlichen Leistungen auf dem Tenniscourt. Immer wieder durch schwerwiegende Verletzungen ausgebremst und in den wichtigsten Jahren seines Sportlerlebens zurückgeworfen, gab er nie auf. Er kämpfte sich stets mit unermüdlichem Einsatz und positiver Einstellung zurück.

Als es ihm dann 2009 zum ersten Mal endlich gelang, in die Top100 der ATP-Weltrangliste vorzustossen und er im Februar 2010 mit Platz 52 sein bestes Ranking erreichte, war das der längst verdiente Lohn für all die Anstrengungen und das «Nie Aufgeben». Dies geschah erst noch im Jahr des 25-jährigen Bestehens von Syntax – symbolisch für die einzigartige Partnerschaft! Der Award «Comeback Player of the Year» des Welttennisverbands ATP im Jahr 2009 wurde ihm durch keinen Geringeren als seinen Jugendfreund, Roger Federer, überreicht und war zudem eine höchst verdiente Anerkennung.

Mit dem Gewinn des Davis Cups 2014 (notabene im Jahr des 30-jährigen Firmenjubiläums von Syntax) durfte er mit der Schweiz den Mannschafts-Weltmeistertitel feiern. Ein wahrhaft historischer Triumph!

Marco Chiudinelli hat den nächsten Schritt in eine neue Karriere gewagt: Er hat seine Firma «mc – CHIUDINELLI, Management & Consulting» gegründet. Beratung, Konzeption und Realisation von Sportdienstleistungen bilden nun nebst/nach verschiedenen Weiter- und Ausbildungsprojekten sein neues Arbeitsgebiet. Dabei kommen ihm seine grosse Erfahrung und Kompetenz als selbständiger Unternehmer während seiner Tenniskarriere zugute. Ganz ohne Management war er nämlich stets für sämtliche Tätigkeiten als Spitzensportler allein verantwortlich. Seine vielen Talente und die Dreisprachigkeit kann er nun im Rahmen seiner verschiedenen Mandate und Aufgaben gewinnbringend einsetzen.

Syntax Übersetzungen AG ist sehr stolz, Marco als Firmenbotschafter Nr. 1 bezeichnen zu können. Die gegenseitige Unterstützung hat sich in vorbildlicher Weise bewährt und wird auch die Zukunft prägen.

Zur Person

     
     Marco Chiudinelli


Ich bin 38 Jahre alt, ledig. Aufgewachsen in Basel und wohnhaft in Baselland. Fan des FC Basel und Rockkonzert-Liebhaber. Mit 16 zog ich für 4 Jahre nach Biel, um bei Swiss Tennis zu trainieren. In diese Zeit fällt der Startschuss für meine Profikarriere, die im Jahr 2000 begann. Mit 20 schlug ich dann meine Zelte im Norden Deutschlands, in Halle (Westfalen), auf. Dort fand ich meine neue Trainingsbasis, der ich über 10 Jahre lang treu blieb. Insgesamt spielte ich während 18 Jahren auf der ATP-Tour.

Karriere-Highlights als ATP-Tennis-Pro


Div. Challenger-Turniersiege Einzel und Doppel

Grand Slams:
2 Mal Erreichen der 3. Runde am US Open

2009:
ATP-Doppelsieger in Gstaad (mit Michi Lammer)
ATP-Halbfinal an den Swiss Indoors Basel (vs. Roger Federer)
ATP-Award «Comeback Player of the Year»

2010:
Erreichen der ATP-Weltranglistenposition 52

2014:
Davis-Cup-Sieger
Crédit Suisse Award «Schweizer Sport-Team des Jahres» (Davis-Cup-Team)

2017:
Beendigung der Aktiv-Tenniskarriere an den Swiss Indoors Basel

2018:
Gründung meiner Firma: mc – CHIUDINELLI Management & Consulting

Was mit «Partner im Sport» begann, entwickelte sich über diese lange Zeit zu «Freunde fürs Leben».

Marco Chiudinelli als Geschäftsmann


Wie sich der ehemalige Profitennisspieler Marco Chiudinelli ein neues Leben in der Geschäftswelt aufbaut.

Mehr dazu

golf4companies


Marco Chiudinelli ist zum Turnierleiter der Schweizer Firmengolf-Matchplay-Meisterschaft unter dem Titel «golf4companies» (g4c) ernannt worden. Zweierteams aus Schweizer Firmen, Verwaltungen und Verbänden messen sich auf dem Golfplatz.

Mehr dazu